High-level networking questions

Background: I’m a web2 sysadmin, devops engineer and CISO. Looking to both deploy and provide using Akash. I’ve got some questions about network security and usability at the network level.

1. Is there a way for providers to protect deployments from DDOS attacks, assuming the deployer isn’t using Cloudflare or some other DDOS prevention themselves?
  2. If no, how do I as a provider protect my systems and other customers from being affected?
  3. Is a provider bound to continue hosting agreements that have been enacted, or can the mix of contracts be shifted around on some regular schedule? Is there an eject bad actor/under attack app process?
  4. Is there any recognition of uptime/reliability on the part of providers, such as an SLA? Any recourse for deployers to redeploy on an emergency basis if one fails?
  5. Is there any possibility (now or future) of deploying a distributed application? IE specify 3 deployments from geographically distributed providers for the same application (recognizing the deployer would have to take care of details such as db replication or file sync among the 3 deployment locations themselves)

Possible solution? Not sure if it’s been considered but if a private BGP cloud layer were enabled on Akash nodes, it would be possible for high availability, multinode deployment, automated redeployment, DDOS protection to be added.

Has this/is this being considered?

Thanks for the questions.

At this time deployments on Akash do not offer any form of DDOS or similar protection. In the future Akash intends to offer additional services around IP based networking & security. Each provider may choose to implement their own security measures.